In Good Hands by Michelle Jones

Once in a great and wonderful while, if you tilt your heart at just the right angle, a sea of ordinary will offer up a pearl…

I was stopped at an intersection one afternoon, waiting for the light to change, when I saw a car on the opposite side of the street pull over to the curb.  A woman hopped out and went around to her trunk to retrieve a towel.  When I saw that she was walking out into the street, I checked behind her to see if there were any cars coming.  They were pretty far off, so I turned my attention back to her.

She was in the middle of the road, kneeling and reaching for what I now saw was an injured bird.  She covered his head with the towel so she’d be able to move him without scaring him.  If he had seen her hands moving toward him, he would have attacked and pecked at her, ignorant of her intentions.  Since he was helpless and blind, he just submitted.

She made it over to a patch of soft grass near some bushes, put him down, and then uncovered him.  He was still helpless, but he was in a better place.  Maybe he’d stay alive until he could fly again.  The odds were certainly against it, but I still hoped, you know?  Of course the bird had no hope.  He was likely just waiting to die.  In nature, only the fit endure.

Satisfied, the woman got back in her car and continued on her way.  My light turned green so I did the same.   As I drove, though, I prayed for that bird.  I prayed for him knowing that he couldn’t and wouldn’t pray for himself.  God understood and ultimately, the decision was His.

The pearl?

I have friends who have loved me enough to pray for me when I couldn’t pray for myself; to hope for me when I had no hope in me, and be my eyes when I couldn’t see past the black hole of my pain.  They didn’t ask my permission.  They knew I was too broken to walk or agree with them…so they interceded for me, without me.

The world says, “God helps those who help themselves.”  In actuality, God helps those who are helpless.

Thank God for God.

3 Comments

  1. mercedes said,

    January 11, 2010 at 8:03 am

    My turn. Girl, Girl, GIRL!

  2. pandora said,

    January 11, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    This is very good writing! Some of us are wounded like the bird and we need someone to pick us up with encouraging words like you are writing. Thanks Michelle!

  3. Teresa Vice said,

    January 12, 2010 at 12:42 am

    True intercession


Leave a Reply

